Sleep - Wake Cycle - วงจรการนอนหลับ


  • Anchalee Choombuathong


        Sleep is physiological unconsciousness and a necessary function of life and divided into five stages. These five stages are determined through the changes that observed through the electroencephalograph (EEG). The first four stages are called the non-rapid eye movement (NREM). In the next stage, a sudden burst of rapid eye movement is observed. Sleep cycles consists of 5-6 cycles of NREM and REM through the night. Sleep is the time when the body secretes many important
hormones such as growth hormone, malatonin and cortisol. Finally, impact of sleep deprivation is associated with alterations of learning and memory, glucose metabolism, immune system and cardiovascular system.

Key words: sleep-wake cycle, the non-rapid eye movement, rapid eye movement


Download data is not yet available.



How to Cite

Choombuathong, A. (2018). Sleep - Wake Cycle - วงจรการนอนหลับ. Journal of Health Science of Thailand, 18(2), 294–303. Retrieved from



Refresher Course

Most read articles by the same author(s)